5 Easy Ways to Learn MongoDB

I often get asked how I was able to learn MongoDB so quickly and become a SME on it in a matter of months.  I’ve already covered Why we went with MongoDB and How MongoDB makes me a better technologist in previous blog posts, but the answer to how to get started with MongoDB covers a bit more then those two topics.  In this blog post, I plan to detail 5 easy ways to get started with MongoDB that helped me learn, so you can be creating apps using MongoDB or supporting it operationally as I do in no time at all.

  1. Read the manual.  No, seriously, the MongoDB Docs are a great way to learn the basics of MongoDB.  The docs are very detailed and offer great tutorials and examples.  Can’t remember syntax for a certain command?  The docs have it.
  2. Online Training.   This is a great way to learn MongoDB in a more structured format, and the best part, it’s free!  MongoDB University has classes for developers and DBA’s that go in to the finer details of using MongoDB and some more advanced courses that get even more nuanced.  The public MongoDB University courses are available during specific intervals with set deadlines.  If you’re fortunate enough to have an Enterprise Support license, the MongoDB University course are also available On Demand, which lets you run through them at your own pace.
  3. Webinars.  Another great free offering from MongoDB is there webinar series.  These webinars often dive deep on specific topics.  This can be great as the topics are variable as the use cases for MongoDB.
  4. Community.  The first 3 items I mentioned to help learn all come from MongoDB, this next one comes from the MongoDB Community.  The MongoDB Google Group is an amazing resource.  There you will see questions from other technologists, this is a great way to get exposed to the many different ways people are using MongoDB and questions that are being asked in the wild.  Additionally, you can attend a local MongoDB User Group (MUG)
  5. Social Media.  This is another great way to see what the Community is up to and what others are working on.  I suggest following the MongoDB Twitter Account of course and subscribing to the MongoDB Masters list (full disclosure:  I’m on that list) , from here you should get a quick idea of who the thought leaders are in the world of MongoDB and you can follow them and discover more MongoDB users and MongoDB Engineers.

So, these are 5 methods I used to learn MongoDB.  I hope you find them as helpful as I did!  Thanks as always for reading!

Leave a comment